Reflection 2: Sperm Cells of Drosophila melanogaster (fruit fly) Welcome

Hello there…….

                Pleased to meet you…….

                                        Bienvenida!

Accueil!

Willkommen!

Benvenuto!

I am a sperm cell of the popular model organism Drosophila melanogaster, otherwise known as the fruit fly. My home is in the male gonad found only in male fruit flies as we fruit flies have separate sexes and carry out sexual reproduction. I am characterized by my long tails that coil around the female eggs. This is what makes me a member of the Drosophila family. During courtship a few hundred of us are transferred into the seminal fluid to the female.  After our female counterparts mate with several males, we the sperms compete for fertilization within the female reproductive tract. You may think of me as insignificant but I play an important role, think of it like this ‘I’m the most important guy in my fly. Why? Because I carry on his genes, I am responsible for the creation of the next generation of fruit flies, without me we the fruit flies would have never been in existence today.

References:

EHow- Website

http://www.drosophila-images.org/2011.shtml

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drosophila_melanogaster

Leave a Reply

